2017/2018 Principality Premiership
Bedwas 18 v 8 Cardiff
30 September 2017 - Bridge Field, Bedwas

Match Preview

Bedwas - Cardiff

Cardiff travel to Bedwas on Saturday (2:30) looking to bounce back after last week’s disappointment

The side shows several changes and a few new faces for this season. In the backline Dan Fish returns from injury at full back with Llywarch Ap Myrddin and Pat Lewis on the wing. Owen Lane moves into the centre to partner James Lewis. The half backs remain unchanged from the side that played Ebbw Vale.

Up front the back row sees James Sheekey return at No.8 to partner Reuben Tucker and Luke Crocker in the back row. There is a welcome return to Blue & Black for Miles Normandale following his move from Rotherham. He partners Ben White with Ian Jenkins moving across one in the front row. That allows club captain Joe Tomlinson to start at hooker.

Head Coach Steve Law said of the game at Bridge Field that ‘ Bedwas are undoubtedly playing the best rugby in our division if not the entire league and we know that this will be a huge challenge for the team. It will really show us how far we have come in the last nine weeks against a very good side, We are still on the start of our journey together and what better way to measure how far you have come than against the side top of the league.’

‘The team came down to earth with a bang last week but have worked hard again in training to put the things which were at fault last week right. It is great to see Miles Normandale back in the side this week and we also need to thank Ebbw Vale for granting James Lewis a permit for this weekend, he has fitted into the squad very well and we look forward to seeing him in Blue & Black this week’


 15 Dan Fish

14 Pat Lewis

13 Owen Lane

12 James Lewis

11 Llywarch Ap Myrddin

10 Ben Thomas

9 Rhodri Cole

1 Rhys Carre

2 Joe Tomlinson

3 Ian Jenkins

4 Miles Normandale

5 Ben White

6 Reuben Tucker

7 Luke Crocker

8 James Sheekey

16 Tom Mably

17 Ryan Spriggs

18 James Greenfield

19 Kris Smith

20 Sion Bennett

21 Mike Hale

22 Ceri Young

23 Dafydd Smith