2017/2018 Principality Premiership
Merthyr 27 v 23 Cardiff
04 November 2017 - The Wern, Merthyr Tydfil

Match Preview

Merthyr - Cardiff

Cardiff travel to Merthyr on Saturday looking to build on last Friday’s bonus point victory over Newport.

The team shows several changes from last week with Ian Jenkins joining Peter Lloyd in the front row alongside last week’s man of the match Rhys Carre. The second row is unchanged with Miles Normandale and James Murphy in the powerhouse. Ben White and Dan Crimmins start with former Merthyr back row Tom Daley completing the pack.

Rhodri Cole partners Gareth Thompson at half back, the only other change in the backline sees Jack Phillips partner Will Rees-Hole in the centre.

Two more new faces appear on the bench this week, former Wales Under 20 hooker Corrie Tarrant, who has signed on at Cardiff this week joins another Wales U20 colleague Tom Mably and James Greenfield as front row cover. The other new face is Geraint Williams at scrum half who is on permit from Tata Steel.

Speaking ahead of the game Head Coach Steve Law said ‘I was pleased with the performance last week and we need to continue that level this week. Travelling to the home of the Champions is always going to be a tough ask and with the Ironmen starting to hit some form recently we know how tough a challenge this will be. But if we can put in an honest performance and a good account of ourselves who knows we may be able to spring a surprise.

The new boys who have come into our squad have made a good impression in training and we are thankful to Tata Steel for helping us with Geraint’s permit. We trained well this week and looked at the videos from last week, where there were several plus points - including one of the lowest missed tackles counts this season. We will be looking to continue on Saturday.’

Cardiff (vs Merthyr)

15 Dan Fish

14 James Beal

13 Will Rees-Hole

12 Jack Phillips

11 Ceri Young

10 Gareth Thompson

9 Rhodri Cole

1 Rhys Carre

2 Ian Jenkins

3 Peter Lloyd

4 Miles Normandale

5 James Murphy

6 Tom Daley

7 Ben White

8 Dan Crimmins

16 James Greenfield

17 Corrie Tarrant

18 Tom Mably

19 Reuben Tucker

20 Luke Crocker

21 Geraint Watkins

22 Ben Thomas

23 Lewis Reece