2012/2013 Principality Premiership
Pontypridd 22 v 16 Cardiff
16 April 2013 - Sardis Road, Pontypridd

Match Report

Pontypridd 22 Cardiff 16

Cardiff came away from Sardis Rd with a bonus point after taking an early lead in this Regional derby.

From the kick-off pressure was put on the home side and the clearing kick was charged down. A series of pick and drives at the line resulted in Jake Cooper-Woolley ploughing over under the posts. James Thomas converting.

Pontypridd took a while to get going, their first points coming from the boot of Simon Humberstone a few minutes later. Those points were doubled mid way through the half after Cardiff were penalised for offside. Cardiff though were creating a lot of pressure at the breakdown and as a result the home side were unable to get a hold on the ball.

Thomas added to Cardiff’s lead with another penalty before Humberstone struck back with two of his own to narrow the gap. Just before half time though the Blue & Blacks again turned ball over and after working downfield a further infringement allowed Thomas to send them in 13-9 up at half time.

Pontypridd clawed that lead back by three from Humberstone before Thomas replied in kind. It wasn’t until late in the second half that the home side got in front for the first time. Chris Clayton scoring following a series of pick and drives. Humberstone added the extras and landed a further three to give the home side a little bit of a cushion. But the defensive effort from the Blue & Blacks was not allowing the home team to get away.

Cardiff came right back into the game in the last quarter. Thomas slotted his fourth kick of the night to bring Cardiff within a score and only a last ditch tackle near the corner stopped the visitors from a rare victory at Sardis Rd.

Match detail

Pontypridd v Cardiff (Sardis Road, Pontypridd) - 16 April 2013

Stuart Williams , Jack Dando , Bradley Thyer , Jordan Sieniawski , Cory Hill (c), Jake Thomas , Tom Hetherington , Owen Sheppeard , Joel Raikes , Simon Humberstone , Owen Williams , Gary Williams , Thomas Pascoe , Chris Clayton , Gareth Wyatt
Replacements: Scott Roberts for Stuart Williams (17), Stuart Williams for Scott Roberts (28), Pat Palmer for Bradley Thyer (51), Wayne O'Connor for Tom Hetherington (53), Adam Thomas for Thomas Pascoe (56), Huw Dowden for Jack Dando (56), Chris Dicomidis for Jake Thomas (69), Bradley Thyer for Pat Palmer (73), Dai Flanagan for Simon Humberstone (75)

Tries: Chris Clayton (59)

Conversion: Simon Humberstone (59)

Penalties: Simon Humberstone (7, 16, 27, 43, 64)

Nathan Trevett , Ethan Lewis , Jake Cooper-Woolley , Nick White , Macauley Cook , Reuben Tucker , Thomas Young , Ben Roach , Garyn Lucas , James Thomas , Steve Cullen , Max Woodward , Richard Smith , Shaun Powell (c), Jamie Davies
Replacements: Matthew Screech for Reuben Tucker (66), Jack Phillips for Steve Cullen (68), Darren Ryan for Max Woodward (68), James Murphy for Nick White (70), Sion Hopkins for Garyn Lucas (72)

Tries: Jake Cooper-Woolley (3)

Conversion: James Thomas (3)

Penalties: James Thomas (33, 36, 45)

Cards: 47: Garyn Lucas - Yellow

Referee: Wayne Davies (Wales)

Official : Wayne Davies (Wales)

Pontypridd Cardiff